April / 13 / 2021

The Avalanches – Since I Left You 20th Anniversary

The Avalanches – Since I Left You 20th Anniversary

photo Grant Spanier


This year 2021 marks the 20th anniversary (how time flies…) of the release of a masterpiece and fundamental work of dance music, a true treatise on how to use samples to the last consequence.

Yes, of course, we’re talking about the legendary Since I Left You, that bestiality built (the legend says) around more than 3500 samples taken from vinyl. From Melbourne came this masterpiece in 2001 and the culprits are called The Avalanches.



A special edition, 4 LP’s or 2 CD’s and a megamix, will go on sale via XL Recordings on the 4th of June, which was already sold out a few hours after the pre-order went on sale. From the band’s official Facebook page it has been announced that they are working hard to make more copies available very soon. The tracklisting is below, but it’s basically the original album plus fifteen remixes by names like Carl Craig, Cornelius, Stereolab, Leon Vynehall or Mario Caldato Jr.

It’s a great opportunity to repopulate the record library of those who couldn’t get hold of a copy at the time, and for those who don’t know it, to get closer to a work that has defined part of the sound of the last two decades.


You can make that pre-order here


  1. Since I Left You
  2. Stay Another Season
  3. Radio
  4. Two Hearts In 3/4 Time
  5. Avalanche Rock
  6. Flight Tonight
  7. Close To You
  8. Diners Only
  9. A Different Feeling
  10. Electricity
  11. Tonight May Have To Last Me All My Life
  12. Pablo’s Cruise
  13. Frontier Psychiatrist
  14. Etoh
  15. Summer Crane
  16. Little Journey
  17. Live At Dominoes
  18. Extra Kings


  1. Since I Left You (Cornelius Remix)
  2. Tonight May Have To Last Me All My Life (Edan Remix)
  3. Frontier Psychiatrist (Mario Caldato Jr’s 85% Remix)
  4. Close To You (Sun Araw Remix)
  5. Since I Left You (Stereolab Remix)
  6. Flight Tonight (Canyons Travel Agent Dub)
  7. Radio (Sinkane Remix)
  8. Since I Left You (Prince Paul Remix)
  9. Electricity (Harvey’s Nightclub Re-Edit)
  10. Summer Crane (Black Dice Remix)
  11. Extra Kings (Deakin Remix)
  12. Tonight May Have To Last Me All My Life (MF DOOM Remix)
  13. Tonight May Have To Last Me All My Life (Dragged By Leon Vynehall)
  14. A Different Feeling (Carl Craig’s Paperclip People Remix)
  15. Thank You Caroline (Original Avalanches Demo Tape)




Subscribe to our Newsletter